Making it up as you go along

Eleven mornings ago I was lying in bed, day-dreaming, when I was struck by an idea for a new children’s book.  I lay there for some time, turning it over in my mind, trying to decide if I could actually write an exciting fantasy adventure for children aged between 8 and 12 years. I’d never written a fantasy story before never mind one for children, though I have read many over the years.  In addition, I already had two books half-written that I was planning to finish before I started something new.  I understood from other writers that writing for children of this age group is hardest of all, especially since J K Rowling set the bar so very high.

I went about my daily tasks but, whatever I did, that idea would not shift so I gave in, sat down with my laptop and began to write.  Did I know who the main characters were going to be?  No.  Did I have the first idea where the story was set?  No.  What sort of a book was it going to be?  I wasn’t sure.  The only thing I knew for certain was that it involved a cuckoo clock.  I had the clock in my mind’s eye, and the whole story developed from there.

Now, on morning eleven, I have a title ‘The Golden Cuckoo’. I have 12,000 plus words written and the whole project is going very well so far.  Do I have the slightest idea of what happens next?  No, I’m making the whole lot up as I go along and it’s the most writing fun I’ve had for years.  Will it all work out in the end?  Maybe – I do have an inkling of a possible ending, but there’s a long way to go and I have no idea of how I can move my characters there, but I’m going to carry on and see what happens.  Maybe I’ll get stuck, or maybe not.  It really doesn’t matter.  I’m loving every second of this particular journey and I’m not sure I want it to end – at least not for quite a while yet.

 

Leave a Reply

